Daily Success Plan – My Secret

Once I drop the kids off to school in the morning I have about 4 hours to get my work done for the day.  Some days it’s a little less due to other commitments but generally it’s around 4 hours.

Now in the past I’ve sat down to my computer with the intention of working and certainly I’ve ended up using my computer for the 4 hours  the time was not productive.  Distractions ruled!  Those distractions were in the form of email, Facebook, videos and any other material that looked anyway interesting.  And before I knew it time has passed and it’s nearly time to pick up the kids.  Panic!  Where did all that time go!  What have I achieved? – nothing!

So now I’ve wised up!  No more distractions or at least limit the distractions.  Firstly, I always ensure that the night before I plan out the 3 tasks I need to focus on for the following day in order to be productive.  Then the next morning after I return from the school drop off I get right to the tasks.

pomodoI love the Pomodoro Technique and find it works really well on helping me stay productive.  About half way through the morning I allow myself some email/social media time but I never begin with this.  I’ve learned the hard way that this is an almost guaranteed way to an unproductive morning.  Nobody wants to feel unproductive.

So there you have it: defined tasks over defined amount of time and short breaks in between with a longer break about half way through.  It takes some discipline at first but when I get into the flow of it and start to see how productive it makes my morning, the feeling of productivity wins over every time!  I highly recommend it.  🙂

 

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5

blog-challenge

Leave a Reply

